Iola Winter Sports Club

High School Team
Middle School Team


Nordic skiing in Iola has a history that goes back to 1910 when the first ski jumping competition was held there.  The present day site of the Iola Winter Sports Club (IWSC) was established in 1959.  Today there are 11 miles of cross country ski trails with 4 miles of lit trails, making it the largest lit trail network in the lower 48 states.   The IWSC has ski jumps ranging from 5 to 60 meters and hosts jumping and Nordic Combined competitions. The IWSC Ski Team is now in its 21st year.  The IWSC Ski Team is a club organization that draws skiers from five local school districts some of which offer Nordic Skiing as a club level varsity sport.

Coaches at Iola are highly qualified dedicated volunteers.  Skiers from 5th grade through high school are eligible.  A broad range of ability levels is accommodated and welcomed. Team members receive uniforms have access to an inventory of ski equipment and are trained in ski preparation. Practices are held under the lights three nights a week. Our race schedule has opportunities for skiers who desire a high level of competition as well as citizen races that are more recreational in nature. Coaches and athletes sometimes race at different venues on the same weekend as a means to meet the individual goals and objectives of our skiers. The IWSC also offers a Youth Ski League that focuses on younger skiers.

The IWSC promotes skiing as a way of life and activity that connects the athlete to the land in a way that few other sports do.  The IWSC program strives to foster the joy that skiing brings to life and to build ski racers while promoting team unity.  Our team is a family.


Jake Barnes

Kristin Barnes

Todd Williams


Middle School Boys
August Bushman
Finley Dickman
Levi Douglas
Charles Herrman
Simon Menet
Johann Statz
Carson Wood

Middle School Girls
Katherine Gould
Lyla James
Violet Krenz
Adeline Linzmeier
Leah Menet
Adelaide Unertl
Harper Wood

Middle School Coaches
Greg Pederson
Jared Linzmeier

High School Boys
Cole Anderson
Ian Anderson
Elijah Bohm
Huba Bodor-Gosztomy
Sandor Cibaric
Bode Erickson
Cooper Erickson
Aloysius Franzen
Samuel Groeschl
Zachary Hinchcliffe
Ben Hopp
Oliver Hylla
Aaron Jacobson
Dash Kvatek
Owen Lencki
Jonah Menet
Oliver Peterson
Eliot Podeszwa
Cole Siegel
Charlie Vater
Max Voss
Alex Weisgram
Cayden Wright

High School Girls
Sophia Bablitch
Greta Dickman
Ivy Dickman
Edith Franzen
Margaret Friese
Claire Gould
Sarah Hopp
Josephine Kwasny
Ella Miller
Grace Schomburg
Megan Yang

High School Coaches
Jake Barnes
Heath Erickson
Luke Menet